They Shall Not Grow Old 99 mins

2847 They Shall Not Grow Old

On the centenary of the First World War, Academy Award®-winner Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings) presents the world premiere of an extraordinary new work, revealing the Great War as you have never seen it.

Employing state-of-the-art technology to transform audio and moving image archive footage more than a century old, Jackson brings to life the people who can best tell this story: the men who were there. Driven by a personal interest in the conflict, Jackson set out to explore the day-to-day experience of its combatants. Immersed for months in the BBC and Imperial War Museum archives, Jackson created narratives and strategies regarding how this story should be told. Using only the voices of those involved, the film explores the reality of war on the front line: their attitudes to the conflict; how they ate, rested and formed friendships in those moments between battles; as well as their hopes and dreams for the future.

Each frame of the film has been hand-colourised by Jackson’s team, the footage 3D-digitised, transformed with modern post-production techniques, enabling these soldiers to walk and talk among us. Reaching into the mists of time, Jackson has aimed to give these men voices, investigate the hopes and fears of these veterans that survived and were able to tell their stories, and detail the humility and humanity of those who represented a generation forever changed by the destruction of a global war.

Suitable only for 15 years and over.

★★★★★ The Guardian | ★★★★★ The Times | ★★★★★ Daily Mail | ★★★★★ The Independent | ★★★★★ Radio Times | ★★★★★ The Express | ★★★★★ The Telegraph

★ ★ ★ ★ ★  A ‘visual and emotional achievement - a groundbreaking resurrection - that resonates.’ - The Times
★ ★ ★ ★ ★  ‘As an act of popular history, They Shall Not Grow Old is outstanding.’ - The Guardian
★ ★ ★ ★ ★  ‘Enthralling, moving and utterly electrifying.’ - Daily Mail 
★ ★ ★ ★ ★  This film ‘brings a modern audience closer to those battlefields, and sacrifice, than perhaps any film before it.’ - The Daily Telegraph

 

Now showing at

Luna Leederville - session times

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Tuesday, 18 December
10:40AM 2:50PM 6:50PM
Wednesday, 19 December
10:40AM 2:50PM 6:50PM 8:15PM-Outdoor 
Thursday, 20 December
10:30AM 2:40PM 6:45PM 
Friday, 21 December
10:30AM 2:40PM 6:45PM 
Saturday, 22 December
10:30AM 2:40PM 6:45PM 
Sunday, 23 December
10:30AM 2:40PM 6:45PM 
Monday, 24 December
10:30AM 2:40PM 6:45PM 
Tuesday, 25 December
--- No sessions ---
Wednesday, 26 December
12:45PM 
Thursday, 27 December
12:45PM 
Friday, 28 December
12:45PM 
Saturday, 29 December
12:45PM 
Sunday, 30 December
12:45PM 
Monday, 31 December
12:45PM 
Tuesday, 1 January
12:45PM 
Wednesday, 2 January
12:45PM 

Luna Outdoor - session times